I Wish We Could Fly Away

weekend nearly overThe weekend is flying by at an alarming pace! It’s almost Monday here in England which means we  all go back to the grindstone! So I am going to make the most of the rest of today by ringing my sister and going for a shuffle (that’s how I would describe my attempts to jog!)

You may have noticed that I have already published a post today for SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY. But I am going to post a second, because I don’t believe anyone has featured it today and I would like to introduce you to a band I used to love as a teenager.

Jim Adams, aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: BIRD/FLY/SKY/WING

band.jpgHave you ever heard of Echobelly? Did you ever go and see them live? If you did, then you will know why they were one of my favourite bands. I loved their live sound, probably more than their studio recordings.

And I thought their lead singer had a great voice. She was an absolute pleasure to listen to. At the time there were some interesting male voices on the scene. From the rough and ready end who slurred the lyrics, to the electro-tweaked shrieky voices. I loved female voices setting off tracks that were indulgent in heady guitar riffs. It really was music to the ears!

The track I have chosen is one of their lesser known songs perhaps. But it qualifies for today’s SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY theme. This is “Worms and Angels”

Here and now, we are alone
Time, she will hold her breath
Only the worms and angels

Know our names
But they have not found us
Although they surround us
I feel the distance closing

Come along, for you and I know
We’ve lived through the centuries
We’ve ridden the darkest horses

All our lives
We hunted our enemies
We fought with a fallacy
It’s time we were all God’s children

Far away, the galaxies soar
The stars are exploding still
I wish we could fly away
Fly away

Here and now, for you and I know
That true love is deathless
These crumbling days are ending

By my side
Let’s walk in the garden
We’ll sleep in the ivy
We’ll be with the worms and angels

More To Come!

shes back.jpgI came back from Australia with all these wonderful things I want to tell you about my trip there and my time with Goldfinch, and yet for some strange reason I still have not really sat down to write about what was one of the highlights of my life! I was sooooooo happy there with him!!! It’s all stored up in my mind and heart and I am sure it will eventually leak out into my posts. I think I have selfishly been enjoying the euphoria and contentment he breathed into me, before I share it with the WordPress world. Perhaps in someways in my head, I am still over there with him 🙂

bloggging6Instead something else has been occupying my attention. You may have noticed that I responded to a writing prompt from Kim, the creator of Writer Side of Life. When I first saw Kim’s prompt, I had just a little seed of an idea. I sat down and began what I thought would be a short flash fiction post. You probably know I usually write much more about my personal life than fiction, so it’s always a bit of an experiment.

Well….I now have published over thirty-five parts (I did count accurately yesterday, but I had a really late night and I have forgotten exactly how many posts there are)! The story of Annabelle has a habit of entangling itself with elements of my own personal life. But I have been trying to make her a fictional character as much as possible.

waiting on a benchI have not published anything for the last few days because I really wanted to make sure I concentrated on how to finish this story. I have grown to care so much about that happens to Annabelle. She is not going to have a Disney princess ending, I promise you that. But I am going to finish her story on a positive. Why on earth would we want to read anything with a miserable ending? I now know how it’s going to go! It feels great to know what is going to happen. I have three more posts scheduled for next week. Then I am going to give my attention to the grand finale!

I cannot believe how satisfying it has been to work on a longer fictional project! I know it needs a lot of editing to make it more interesting to a reader who is looking at it with completely fresh eyes and knows nothing about the personal life of Caramel that has inspired much of Annabelle’s tale. I have promised myself that editing my little novelette will be a great project during the cold winter months.

chilled.pngI was very nervous about a long project. Personally I think blogging on WordPress is more suited to shorter posts, entertaining or interesting or just plain delightful posts. I didn’t think anyone would have an interest in me focusing attention a long story about a fictional character. But it turns out that’s what most of us have been reading for donkey’s years!

I had huge encouragement to keep working at it from numerous bloggers, and found the comments from the following bloggers especially encouraging:

Paula Light

Ursula

Tom Burton

Jay-lyn Doerkson

Carol Anne

satisfying.jpg…and I have lost track of how many lovely comments I have received encouraging me to keep on developing Annabelle’s story! But thank you so much to everyone who has given me the impetus to continue. It’s one of the most satisfying things I have done since I started blogging. I am looking forward to tweaking the last few parts so that they nicely tie up the story lines for Annabelle and the other characters in her story.

This was the original writing prompt post from Kim, the creator of Writer Side of Life:

Free Creative Writing Prompts

I chose a prompt under the ROMANCE section: 3. Who is she waiting for? which came with the picture below:

kim's prompt
Photo by Thiago Matosfrom Pexels 

These are the parts of Annabelle Riley’s story that I have already published, and there are more to come (you will be glad to know the end is in sight!)

I Just Wanna Flyyyyyyyyy

flyyyyyyyyyy (2)Jim Adams, aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: BIRD/FLY/SKY/WING

I am in a really funny mood at the moment. I have had tunes running through my head from the time I worked for the record company. Boy did I listen to a lot of music back then. Music I never hear on the radio anymore. Boy did I go and see a lot of bands play. Sometimes I notice that twenty years later, some of these bands might play somewhere not far away, Hammersmith or Brixton (where I noticed Shed Seven are playing soon :/  I wonder if Taylor Swift will be there! They have let me in on the private joke amongst all Londoners who are scratching their heads wondering why on earth she would be having nights out in Brixton). I don’t go to see the bands I used to like twenty years ago. That was then. That’s not who I am today. Still, I don’t mind giving some of those tunes a spin occasionally.

young.jpgThe song I have chosen features the word “fly” or as you will hear in the song “flyyyyyyyyy”! The first time I heard this song, it was my brother who was playing it. Then I saw the video on a music show on television. It caught my attention. The band, Oasis, caught a lot of people’s attention. Very quickly they gained enormous popularity here in the UK. There is still an entire generation of men who seem to model their wardrobe, speech and attitude on the infamous Gallagher brothers. (It’s rather old for me nowadays, can’t be putting up with that nonsense.)

I have a major aversion to drug and alcohol abuse. So I am not going to big up Oasis all that much. But I do appreciate their musical talent, the phenomenal sound of the guitars in their tracks and some great lyrics. This was the first Oasis song I heard. I was a big fan back in the day. My pocket money did go on their singles, albums and tickets to their concerts.

I think this was probably the single that triggered a wave of Oasis-fandom that is still a soft spot in the hearts of many English men today.

Maybe I don’t really wanna know
How your garden grows
‘Cause I just wanna fly
Lately did you ever feel the pain
In the morning rain
As it soaks you to the bone

Maybe I just wanna fly
Want to live I don’t wanna die
Maybe I just wanna breathe
Maybe I just don’t believe
Maybe you’re the same as me
We see things they’ll never see
You and I are gonna live forever

I said, maybe I don’t really wanna know
How your garden grows
‘Cause I just wanna fly
Lately did you ever feel the pain
In the morning rain
As it soaks you to the bone

Maybe I will never be
All the things that I wanna be
Now is not the time to cry
Now’s the time to find out why
I think you’re the same as me
We see things they’ll never see
You and I are gonna live forever

Maybe I don’t really wanna know
How your garden grows
‘Cause I just wanna fly
Lately did you ever feel the pain
In the morning rain
As it soaks you to the bone

Maybe I just wanna fly
Want to live I don’t wanna die
Maybe I just wanna breathe
Maybe I just don’t believe
Maybe you’re the same as me
We see things they’ll never see
You and I are gonna live forever

Written By: Noel Gallagher