Even If You Cannot Hear My Voice

Jim Adams aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: SONGS WITH A CHOIR OR ORCHESTRA

I nearly drove myself loopy trying to remember what I thought was that pop song with the epic da-dah, de-da-dah string section. I suddenly realized it was not a pop song…it was Beethoven’s Egmont Overture that I had in my head.

Then…when that realization finally dawned, some of my favourite songs came to mind – and I realized just how much an orchestra can enhance songs (am I stating the obvious?)

I don’t think anyone can dispute that when Leona Lewis recorded the Snow Patrol song “Run” – she skyrocked to the track to legendary status. She has one of those voices that takes a song to a whole other level, another realm. But even though she alone is something special, very wisely, they decided to make sure we would all be tingling all over by adding a choir.

Not a dry eye in the house.

I'll sing it one last time for you
Then we really have to go
You've been the only thing that's right
In all I've done

And I can barely look at you
But every single time I do
I know we'll make it anywhere
Away from here

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I'll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we'll run for our lives
I can hardly speak I understand
Why you can't raise your voice to say

To think I might not see those eyes
Makes it so hard not to cry
And as we say our long goodbyes
I nearly do

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I'll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we'll run for our lives
I can hardly speak I understand
Why you can't raise your voice to say

Light up, light up
As if you have a choice
Even if you cannot hear my voice
I'll be right beside you, dear

Louder, louder
And we'll run for our lives
I can hardly speak I understand
Why you can't raise your voice to say

Written by: Iain Denis Archer, Mark Pete McClelland, Jonathan Graham Quinn, Nathan Connolly, Gary Lightbody

I think every song on this playlist has some sort of choir or orchestral crescendo going on (with the exception of Loren’s showstopper of a finale). It is perfect for enhancing the moments we hold precious.

5 thoughts on “Even If You Cannot Hear My Voice”

Leave a comment