The Creaks In The Floor

Puzzled blonde two females stand close to each other, curve lipsI mentioned earlier that I was very surprised at my original song choice when I checked my scheduled post for today’s SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY. Well this is the post I found, nobody has featured this song, so I am going to publish it. I noticed this post also explains why I have recently started to feature songs by a particular artist in some of my posts recently.

When I read through the lyrics to this song, which admittedly I have not thought about since I wrote this post a month ago, I remembered why it really appealed to me. I have added a paragraph to the end to explain why the lyrics struck a chord with me.

Jim Adams, aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: FLOOR/HOUSE/ROOF/WALLS

cornelia streetSurely I am not the only one who started singing “Up On The Roof” as soon as they saw this theme?

So, feeling we might end up a bit repetitive today, I was trying to find a different song to feature. I have chosen “Cornelia Street”, a song from Taylor Swift, because it mentions creaks in the floor. I too have creaks in my lovely wooden flooring. It makes me think someone else in the house, when there isn’t. So I memorise where they are, so that I don’t give myself a fright.

I have been travelling between London and Wales more often of late. Normally I catch a train. But recently a friend of mine said she was going up to see her family, so she offered me a lift in her car. Great! However, although I saved money on the train ticket, being a passenger in her car came at a price. It’s a price you are all going to pay for too!

TS1.jpgIt turns out she is a huge Taylor Swift fan. I am not a fan of anyone particularly. I am way past the stage when fandom seems like a balanced state of mind. I love variety. The variety of songs and genres featured is one of the reasons I love SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY so much! I can only take any artist in small doses. As soon as I have finished listening to one of their songs, I am ready to move on to someone else. So, can you imagine how I felt when after listening to every track on Taylor Swift’s new album, she wanted to listen to the whole thing again? Aaaaaagh!

I was ready to run screaming. And I don’t mean that unkindly about Taylor’s music. I just never ever listen to an entire album of any artist, and to have to listen to the whole thing through twice!!! (And…it’s not particularly my preferred genre of music.) I was tested to my limit. When I admitted that before that journey I could only mention with certainty one Taylor Swift song (Shake It Off – a karaoke memory of mine), my friend decided to correct matters by playing two of her previous albums on the return trip to London. Yay! Ugh. :/

out n about.jpgSo now next time we pass (if she is still camping out near my family member), I might even mention to her I like a couple of her songs. Nah! Maybe not. I don’t think she would really want a half-hearted compliment from me. In the meantime, I might feature some of her songs in my posts. I like the story-telling quality in her songs, I will say that. Nice voice. Of the handful of her songs I have seen a video of, I can see that some of her videos are superb (as you’d expect from a big budget), a couple I do not like at all – but that’s because I am a gentle soul. Some lyrics I really enjoyed, others not so much. I don’t like over-produced music. Hey I am an indie rock child – it was all about guitars. But if there is an acoustic version of any of her songs I will happily listen to them. I genuinely liked some of what I heard. But I can’t listen to hours of the same artist. Small doses please – preferably stripped back to acoustic, so my senses can make out what it is I am listening to.

This is a song I liked, and for some time I have had the feelings expressed in her lyrics, whenever I thought of being on the road where Jack and I shared a flat. Only, I don’t feel that way after the phone call I had (the first of two phone-calls I had from him this week). By the time this post is published, I will be on the other side of London, all because of the second phone-call I received from him.

We were in the backseat
Drunk on something stronger than the drinks in the bar
“I rent a place on Cornelia Street”
I say casually in the car
We were a fresh page on the desk
Filling in the blanks as we go
As if the street lights pointed in an arrow head
Leading us home

And I hope I never lose you, hope it never ends
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
That’s the kinda heartbreak time could never mend
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
And baby, I get mystified by how this city screams your name
And baby, I’m so terrified of if you ever walk away
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again

Windows flung right open, autumn air
Jacket ’round my shoulders is yours
We bless the rains on Cornelia Street
Memorize the creaks in the floor
Back when we were card sharks, playing games
I thought you were leading me on
I packed my bags, left Cornelia Street
Before you even knew I was gone

But then you called, showed your hand
I turned around before I hit the tunnel
Sat on the roof, you and I

I hope I never lose you, hope it never ends
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
That’s the kinda heartbreak time could never mend
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
And baby, I get mystified by how this city screams your name
And baby, I’m so terrified of if you ever walk away
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again

You hold my hand on the street
Walk me back to that apartment
Years ago, we were just inside
Barefoot in the kitchen
Sacred new beginnings
That became my religion, listen

I hope I never lose you
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
Oh, never again
And baby, I get mystified by how this city screams your name
And baby, I’m so terrified of if you ever walk away
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again

I don’t wanna lose you (Hope it never ends)
I’d never walk Cornelia Street again
I don’t wanna lose you (Yeah)

“I rent a place on Cornelia Street”
I say casually in the car

Written By: Taylor Swift

He Takes Herbal Baths

country house1Jim Adams, aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: FLOOR/HOUSE/ROOF/WALLS

I checked my SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY post last night and I was very surprised at my original choice. Because Jim lets us know the theme’s in advance I sometimes schedule them to be published an entire month in advance. And I must admit, I was wondering what on earth I was thinking. I obviously was not myself when I chose that song. I might publish that other post later tonight. Let’s see if anyone else picks that other song.

back in the day.pngSo I hastened to correct matters quickly. This is a song I have been hoping to feature in SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY, and today’s theme allows me to do so.

I was thirteen the first time I saw Blur play live at the G-Mex in Manchester. I bunked off school that day because I had a detention which would have made me late for the concert. So instead I spent the whole day in Manchester with my school bag (uniform stuffed inside it). There is a long version of the story of what happened that day, but I wont bore you right now.

In 1995, there was a big battle of the bands between the band I featured in last week’s SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY, Oasis, and the band I am featuring today, Blur.

This is the song that won the Number One spot. I still say that is partly because they gave more attention to providing a great video to go along with the track. But it stands on it’s own legs. Blur were doing something very right back then. Their lyrics and music captured the spirit in Britpop. Lads and ladettes were out in track suits and flat trainers and everyone had a bit of an attitude, including finding amusement in the upper classes and the wealthy.

Anyway…I now present to you the iconic Blur anthem “Country House” – enjoy!!!


So the story begins

City dweller, successful fella
Thought to himself, “Oops, I’ve got a lot of money”
Caught in a rat race, terminally
I’m a professional cynic but my heart’s not in it
I’m paying the price of living life at the limit
Caught up in the century’s anxiety
Yes, it preys on him, he’s getting thin
Try the simple life

He lives in a house
A very big house in the country
Watching afternoon repeats
And the food he eats in the country
He takes all manner of pills
And piles up analyst bills in the country
Oh, it’s like an animal farm
That’s the rural charm in the country

He’s got morning glory and life’s a different story
Everything’s going Jackanory
Touched with his own mortality
He’s reading Balzac and knocking back Prozac
It’s a helping hand that makes you feel wonderfully bland
Oh, it’s a century’s remedy for the faint at heart
A new start
Try the simple life

He lives in a house
A very big house in the country
He’s got a fog in his chest
So he needs a lot of rest in the country
He doesn’t drink, smoke, laugh
Takes herbal baths in the country
But you’ll come to no harm
On the animal farm in the country
In the country, in the country, in the country

Blow, blow me out, I am so sad, I don’t know why
Blow, blow me out, I am so sad, I don’t know why

Oh, he lives in a house
A very big house in the country
Watching afternoon repeats
And the food he eats in the country
He takes all manner of pills
And piles up analyst bills in the country
Oh, it’s like an animal farm
That’s the rural charm in the country
Oh, he lives in a house
A very big house in the country
He’s got a fog in his chest
So he needs a lot of rest in the country
He doesn’t drink, smoke, laugh
Takes herbal baths in the country
But you’ll come to no harm
On the animal farm in the country