No Sugar Please – I Am Sweet Enough

Technically, I have a sweet tooth. I have never found myself disliking any cake, biscuit, sweet treat. I have my favourites. But it is pretty safe to say I like anything sweet.

However….

To keep in shape, there is no way I can indulge in sweet treats. So, I don’t anymore. I enjoy my three meals a day – breakfast, lunch and dinner – which are usually savoury (although I occasionally have a sweet breakfast – like raisin bagels or toast with jam).

On an almost daily basis, people offer me biscuits or cake. I have been saying “thank you but no” for a long time. Some people get it and don’t seem to take any offense that I am turning down their kind generosity. But others do appear to be disappointed.

I don’t like disappointing anyone. But I am at that age or stage in life where if I have a slice of cake, I need to find time for a half hour run to offset the calorie intake. I have so little time. It is just so much easier to avoid sweet treats.

Ironically, I am baking more cake than ever (for my parents). But not partaking. Well…I am sweet enough – I don’t need extra sweetening.

Photo by Ilo Frey on Pexels.com

8 thoughts on “No Sugar Please – I Am Sweet Enough”

  1. Ironic reading this right now, as I have my sights set on trying to reduce sweet tooth-related consumption in the future. As you note, the “return on investment” just isn’t there when you have to do so much just to negate the effect on the body. As with a prior commenter, I just need to look at sugar and it “gains” on me.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment