Back In The Saddle Again

I did mention last weekend that I was going on a coffee-date with another man – not Goldfinch. Because of course, Goldfinch is 10,100 miles away, so coffee-dates are not something he and I are going to be able to enjoy. Besides, Goldfinch didn’t drink coffee.

I have not written a lot about that date and how it went yet. There is a reason. Technically it was fine. However,…aaah sigh, I had to excuse myself from the table to go to the ladies where I spent several minutes bringing up my lunch, and then trying to disguise that I felt so ill.

Then I arrived back at the little nest. I know this is going to sound strange, but I had the scent of him in my system. There is nothing wrong with his scent. It was just different to the scent of Goldfinch. There was nothing wrong with the scent of the man I met for coffee. But I breathed it in from my coat and my instant reaction was to feel sick. I threw up again.

This weekend is our second date. It’s really hard to explain how sick I feel. Not sick with nerves. Sick with not wanting to be on a second date. Sick with the thought of being touched by a man that is not Goldfinch.

I heard this song the other day… and it reminded me of Sam, the character Tom Hanks plays in the movie “Sleepless In Seattle”. He goes on a date with another woman before he meets Annie (played by Meg Ryan). I think the other woman’s name is Victoria, and she has a distinctive laugh. There’s nothing wrong with Victoria. She is kind, she is a nice person. But it’s all wrong. Sam does know that really, but he probably has less idea than I do about how to go about dating and forging a relationship with someone else when the person that you actually love and actually want to be with just is not there anymore. Sam pushes himself to go ahead with dating Victoria (poor gal) even though it feels so strange and uncomfortable.

Please don’t ask me how this second date goes, because I know I am not going to want to answer. I just have to try not to keep throwing up.

Anyway For All The Things You Know… Tell Me Why Does The River Not Flow

Jim aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me has chosen another great theme for SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY. This week’s theme is RIVER/STREAM/BROOK…

…as you can see from his post below:

water under the bridge

Who does not like messing about on the river? And the fun to be had along the English riverbanks is well…I could write many posts about the fun I have had along English riverbanks, but I will save all that for another day.

I wanted to post one of my favourite ever songs (River Deep, Mountain High), but I have already featured it in several other posts on my site, and I could not go with Richard Marx for two weeks on the run, so I have decided to choose something I have not featured before. An English band that some of you may not be familiar with, but who were very popular here especially after they toured with one of the biggest Britpop bands Oasis.

I have mentioned a few times that while I had that little job at the record company in Manchester, I was able to go and see a lot of bands for free. At that time, Britpop bands were extremely popular in the UK. One of my favourite bands at the time were Ocean Colour Scene.

The song I have chosen “The Riverboat Song” definitely fits with this weeks theme. Now if this song, either the guitar riff or lyrics remind you of a song by “Led Zeppelin”, apparently that is no accident. This song was heavily influenced by a “Led Zeppelin” track. If you like guitars, I think you will like this track.

A lot of people my age may have watched a popular music/chat show called “TFI Friday”, presented by English presenter Chris Evans. Every time he introduced a celebrity guest they would walk through the studio venue the show was filmed to the sound of the guitar riff in this song. To explain this, I have included a video right at the bottom of the post to give you a glimpse of the show and a live performance from the band.

Cue the guitars!!!

I see double up ahead
Where the riverboat
Swayed beneath the sun
Is where the river runs red
Like a king who stalks
The wings and shoots a dove
And frees an eagle instead

It’s more or less the same
As the things that you said

I see trouble up the road
Like the things you found
In love are by the way
And like to cheat on your soul
Like the best and worst
Of thoughts that lose control
Before you lie on your bed

It’s more or less the same
As the things you said

Anyway for all the things you know
Tell me why does the river not flow
Anyway for all the things you said
Tell me why does the river run red

Anyway for all the things you’ve seen
Tell me when will the river run green
And anyway for all the things you know
Tell me why does the river not flow

It’s more or less the things
You fail to say in your way that’s your trouble
Like a king who stalks the wings
And shoots the moon and the stars

And his double

It’s more or less the same
As the things that you said

Anyway for all the things you know
Tell me why does the river not flow
Anyway for all the things you said
Tell me why does the river run red

Anyway for all the things you’ve seen
Tell me when will the river run green
And anyway for all the things you know
Tell me why does the river not flow

I see double up ahead
Where the riverboat swayed beneath the sun
Is where the river runs red
I see double, that’s my trouble

 

This song was written by the band Ocean Colour Scene…and the members of the band at the time were:

Simon Fowler, Steve Cradock, Oscar Harrison, Damon Minchella