Oceans Apart

I am such a softie these days. If anyone has been reading my posts for a while – you may know that the man I love is now living on the opposite side of the planet from me and has no plans to return to England any time soon. 😦

However…as I have mentioned many a time, I knew that would be the case when I met him, and I have had a long time to prepare myself. Currently, I need to be near-ish my family and support network. Much as I would love to book myself a one-way ticket to Adelaide, Australia, that is really not a clever thing to do right now.

IMG_20180722_123051 (2)So instead you all have to put with me being a hopeless romantic and occasionally lamenting my lovely Goldfinch being so far away from me. You are all so lovely!!! What would I do without being able to pour out my feelings in my posts? Thank you for putting up with me! And oh your gorgeous comments!  ❤  I am deeply grateful for the supportive and kindly comments that have come my way from so many lovely bloggers.

When you are in love – songs take on a completely different significance to you – have you found that? Even songs you may have found a bit corny in the past are suddenly just perfect at expressing exactly your feelings.

I wrote a goodbye letter to Goldfinch …and I put it into his suitcase so that he could only read it when he reached Australia. But I took photographs of it because I wanted to keep a record of all I said to him. I can’t bring myself to read it again because I am sure I will be in floods of tears. But one thing I do remember saying is that whatever he chose for his future (and I wished him to be happy and healthy as possible), if he ever needed me, then I hoped I would be able to come immediately to be there for him.

When I saw that Jim had selected the theme of OCEAN/SEA for this week’s SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY I found several songs running around my head. But I opted for this one because it is so lovely and soppy – very much like me when I think of Goldfinch!


Oceans apart, day after day
And I slowly go insane
I hear your voice on the line
But it doesn’t stop the pain

If I see you next to never
How can we say forever?

Wherever you go, whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you

I took for granted, all the times
That I thought would last somehow
I hear the laughter, I taste the tears
But I can’t get near you now

Oh, can’t you see it, baby
You’ve got me going crazy

Wherever you go, whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you

I wonder how we can survive
This romance
But in the end if I’m with you
I’ll take the chance

Oh, can’t you see it, baby
You’ve got me going crazy

Wherever you go, whatever you do
I will be right here waiting for you
Whatever it takes or how my heart breaks
I will be right here waiting for you
Waiting for you

 – Written by Richard Marx

______________

Please do feel free to join in the fun and link back to the SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY post from our current host Jim aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me:

Water Cohesion