Making Life Taste Sweeter

I have always loved the SHARE-YOUR-WORLD questions provided by Melanie the creator of sparksfromacombustiblemind. No matter what kind of a week I have had, it always cheers me up working on these posts. Melanie has provided some great questions again this week:

https://sparksfromacombustiblemind.com/2019/03/04/share-your-world-3-4-19/

beautiful.jpg

What’s the first thing you notice about a person?

I had not really thought about that. When I lived up north, I think the first thing I used to notice about a person was how they were dressed. But then I moved to London. I stopped noticing how people were dressed because frankly, every shade of weird and wonderful is here in London. People really do seem to wear whatever they want.

So thinking about it, as I walk down a busy high street, what I notice about people is whether they are smiling. I have noticed there are a lot of people who look unhappy, tired, stressed and disconnected.

When I do see a smile it lifts my heart.

We need more smiles please!

What three habits do you feel would improve someone’s life?

Think about what you can do to make your life one big thank you every day. Live life in a way that shows you appreciate it, by looking after your body and enjoying creation. Make time for the natural world – there is so much beauty and incredible wisdom to be seen in creation. Observe creation closely.

Don’t complicate your life with too many things. Keep life simple. Try not to pay attention to all these commercial advertisements. The cost is often greater than the worth of many material things. Avoid debt. It’s lovely to have a stress free life because you are not a slave to debt.

Think about to whom you can show love and kindness each day. It does not have to be big gestures that are expensive. Do what you can. That might be something practical like washing the dishes or emptying the rubbish bins. Or sending text messages, e-mails, cards and letters to people to let them know you have been thinking of them and that you miss them. Or perhaps baking some cookies for friends or workmates or neighbours who you don’t know very well – or…well look, if you are ever lacking in ideas something is wrong. Spend time thinking about how you can give more. Don’t be expecting a return. You may already know these secrets:

giving (2)There is more happiness in giving than in receiving.

Practice giving, and people will give to you. They will pour into your laps a fine measure, pressed down, shaken together, and overflowing. For with the measure that you are measuring out, they will measure out to you in return.

What takes up too much of your time? Would you stop that if you could?

Since I received head injuries, I am amazed at how much more sleep I seem to need now. I need much more then eight hours. I probably average ten hours sleep each night now, although some days I have to work longer hours so I have less sleep and I start to struggle.

I guess I would like to be able to get by without as much sleep – but it effects my coordination, concentration, cognitive abilities – all sorts of aspects of my daily functioning. I also feel I am more likely to become upset and anxious if I have slept less than my brain seems to need nowadays.

Cookies (biscuits to those elsewhere), pastries, pie or cake? If not, what does your sweet tooth crave?

Oh yes please, all of them. Line them up, one at a time and I will demolish them!

I actually prefer to eat savoury food and leave sweets out of my daily diet. Although I make allowances for sad times when it’s nice to have a treat to cheer myself up. In all honesty I make sure sweet things are a rare treat (ONCE ON THE LIPS FOREVER ON THE HIPS)…I love all sweet things – pretty much any combination of flavours – but I am always a sucker for caramel!

With regards sweet things – I like pretty much everything. I love squidgy cookies, or shortbread, or ginger stem biscuits or custard creams. I love a Danish pastry or an eclair, a pain au chocolate or a Bavarian slice. I love pecan pie, key lime pie, Bakewell tart, treacle tart, tarte au citron, cherry pie, custard tart. Cake – don’t get me started! Any cake – cheesecake, fruit cake, Eccles cakes, sandwich sponge cakes, coffee and walnut cakes, banana loaf.

 

I love it all.

Gratitude?  Are You Happy?  If so, why?  If not, why not?

I am very grateful that there are so many people who despite leading busy lives, are willing to take the time to say a few kind words of encouragement and let you know they care. It has been so touching to receive so many kind comments this week. We are all imperfect and yet capable of such wonderful kindness.

I am grateful I have such a supportive family and world of friends (even though there are many friends who seemed to evapourate because of what happened with Jack). I feel very blessed and deluged with love. I am very grateful for Goldfinch – I am worried about him at the moment. I don’t want him to be burdened.