How Do You Hold A Moonbeam In Your Hand?

I published a post recently mentioning that my friends tease me because I remind them of three movie characters.

 

The first post on this three part series was all about why some of my friends say I am the female version of Forrest Gump. But more of my friends say I am cross between Maria Von Trapp and Bridget Jones. I will say this…in my head, I am trying to be Maria Von Trapp. I aspire to be like Maria. She is my ideal. (But apparently what actually happens reminds my friends more of Bridget. Hmm.)

I fell in love with Maria Von Trapp at a very young age, due to words like these:

Oh, how do you solve a problem like Maria?
How do you hold a moonbeam in your hand?

She climbs a tree, and scrapes her knee, her dress has got a tear…

Somewhere in my wicked childhood, I must have done something good

I have confidence that spring will come again
Besides what you see I have confidence in me!

Let’s start from the very beginning… When you sing you begin with Do-Ray-Me…

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens…these are a few of my favourite things

And to be honest, I was not the only one. I can remember dozens of us little girls singing the songs from “The Sound Of Music off by heart. We even performed songs at parties and entertainment shows, after weeks of practice. I have seen the film many times, and still love it. If you asked me right now, I could sing the entire score from start to finish for you.

Maria Von Trapp made a huge impression on me. She seemed perfect. Of course I would want to grow up to be just like her. I am still aiming to be like her.

I thought she was absolutely delightful. She had a bit of a wild streak in her – tree-climbing, guitar-playing, curfew breaking –  but she is undoubtedly good and pure. And her entire being is songful and smile inducing. What a woman. I wanted to be exactly that!

I like her image – I am sure my wardrobe of dresses are very much Maria Von Trapp inspired. I must admit I do prefer having my hair longer rather than shorter. I love her voice and listening to Julie Andrews tones over and over every time we watched the film, has shaped the way I sing.

I love the self-sacrificing nature she has. I think I would have been drawn to convent life and devotion if it was not for being disgusted at the hypocrisy of religious clergy and the deviation from scripture in the doctrines of many churches. Oh and also it is the opposite from the example Christ set. He did not isolate himself in a confine. I love her clear mind and no nonsense mentality. The way she persists despite challenges and causes those who were once against her to melt under her sunshine personality and fall in love with her.

There are so many things that I love about her. In a world filled with horrifying behaviour from celebrities who seem devoid of integrity and goodness, I choose to be like Maria! Anyone who knows me realizes that in my head, the person who I am trying to be like is the marvellous Maria Von Trapp!

I do hope you will sing along to the video below!

“The hills are alive with the sound of music
With songs they have sung for a thousand years
The hills fill my heart with the sound of music
My heart wants to sing every song it hears

My heart wants to beat like the wings of the birds
That rise from the lake to the trees
My heart wants to sigh like a chime
That flies from a church on a breeze
To laugh like a brook when it trips
And falls over stones on its way
To sing through the night
Like a lark who is learning to pray

I go to the hills when my heart is lonely
I know I will hear what I heard before
My heart will be blessed with the sound of music
And I’ll sing once more”