One Human Family

Earth, Peace, Together, Symbol, Community

I have been at work day after day after day…sometimes I miss what is happening on the news. But I did see scenes that baffled me the other day.

We are one human family. We are protecting people from a killer virus. But we know that as well as this invisible physical threat, there are other threats to our human family, forces which incite outrage and seek to cause division and hatred.

Because I work with international non-political charities with volunteers from over two hundred nationalities and diverse cultures, I sometimes forget that in the world at large people can behave in such a depraved way.

A human family…all of us with the responsibility to learn to look after our planet, look after each other and look after our health. Education is puerile if it does not teach people how to love. I love this human family and can’t wait for all to be healed in every way possible – physically, emotionally, mentally – the ability to feel joy, to feel safe, to feel valued healed.

Show love. Please show love. Remember we have all been asked to follow guidelines to save people’s lives. Love our worldwide human family, many of whom are fearful and confused. Love conquers. Love each other.

We are all learners at love.

 

I…Am Feeling So Small

Jim Adams, aka Newepicauthor, the creator of A Unique Title For Me, is hosting SONG-LYRIC-SUNDAY and this week he has chosen the theme: BIG/LARGE/LITTLE/SMALL/TALL/TINY

Blue, Watercolor, Watercolour, PaintingI have chosen a song that makes me cry. The track is “Say Something“, from A Great Big World featuring Christina Aguilera. It is a little gem of a song that makes some big reverberations in your heart. There is something very raw and exposed about these verses. There is pain and sadness in those lyrics.

I find the words very emotional. It’s the whole idea of giving up. I fight that feeling. I don’t want to be someone who gives up, especially not on other people. Love is always trying to find a way. Giving up on someone is not what love wants to do.

dlhfdafihIn the past, I have been near the brink of giving up. I was losing hope with regards to Jack. The spark of hope was something I had to keep hidden within, because when I did talk about it, other people told me to forget him, let go, move on, cut him off. I remember thinking to myself “that is not who I am!”

Jack would have had no idea how I felt. But he came back. He came back! He came back and relief and peace flooded over me! The situation with Jack has bolstered my fighting spirit. I’m not giving up. I’m not giving up on anyone! Not even if it’s years since that person hurt me and they stopped talking to me. I’m not giving up.

What happened with Jack makes me feel small. I was over my head, I knew nothing at all. I realized I was about to stumble and fall. I was still learning about love, just starting to crawl. Thank goodness after all the damage…I never gave up on him…and he never gave up on me.

 

Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’ll be the one if you want me to
Anywhere I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you

And I… am feeling so small
It was over my head
I know nothing at all
And I… will stumble and fall
I’m still learning to love
Just starting to crawl

Say something, I’m giving up on you
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you
Anywhere I would’ve followed you
Say something, I’m giving up on you

And I… will swallow my pride
You’re the one that I love
And I’m saying goodbye

Say something, I’m giving up on you
And I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you
And anywhere I would’ve followed you (Oh-Ooh)
Say something, I’m giving up on you

Say something, I’m giving up on you
Say something…

Written by: Axel Ian and Campbell Mike