I Used To Live In The Middle Of Nowhere

I used to live down a little lane almost identical to this one.  I lived on an estate with woodlands full of ancient oak and enormous trees. There were meadows and an orchard, a vegetable garden and formal lawns.

There were miles and miles of green fields all around the estate.  It was a walker’s paradise…rolling fells and beautiful glens and streams and hollows that were almost a secret from most of the world.  I explored them for the three and a half years I dwelt way out in the sticks (or the boondocks).  I have walked for miles without seeing a single soul!

20160818_114935-01

For now, I live in London…miles away from the boondocks!  During the coming autumnal months I plan to escape the big chokey smoke and pay my respects to the countryside as often as possible.  Here is a taste of where I used to live:

I only left my paradise home because I was invited to become a full-time international volunteer based in London.  My first assignment was to an infirmary where I was caring for other volunteers who were now touching one hundred years of age.  I had to train a team of volunteers how to use hoists and how to assist with patients with dementia.

That’s how I met Jack.  He moved to London a few months after I did.  He was already a success as a celebrity, but he was passionate about working for charities and he had also accepted an invitation to make his main focus working as a volunteer.  I admired him immediately because I knew he was sacrificing other opportunities in order to give unselfishly of himself. Jack has always been an inspiration to me and always will be.

I don’t have any regrets about any of my own sacrifices.  The rewards were incredible!

______________________________

This was my response to Laura M Bailey’s 3-way-prompt:

https://alltheshoesiwear.wordpress.com/2018/09/17/manic-mondays-3-way-prompt-boondocks/

Welcome to Manic Mondays 3 way prompt  9/17/18.  A word, A picture, A song. I post 3 prompts each Monday.  Pick 1, a combination or all 3!  
Write a post using any or all prompts. It can be prose, poetry, fiction, non-fiction or drawing, painting….the only limitation is your own imagination! Go wild! 
Once you are done, create a pingback to this post THEN come back here and  leave a link to your post in the comments so everyone can enjoy see your entry.

Without further adieu, our word prompt is:  Boondocks

Definition of boondocks

1rough country filled with dense brush

2a rural area sticks

 

10 thoughts on “I Used To Live In The Middle Of Nowhere”

Leave a comment