No Sugar Please – I Am Sweet Enough

Technically, I have a sweet tooth. I have never found myself disliking any cake, biscuit, sweet treat. I have my favourites. But it is pretty safe to say I like anything sweet.

However….

To keep in shape, there is no way I can indulge in sweet treats. So, I don’t anymore. I enjoy my three meals a day – breakfast, lunch and dinner – which are usually savoury (although I occasionally have a sweet breakfast – like raisin bagels or toast with jam).

On an almost daily basis, people offer me biscuits or cake. I have been saying “thank you but no” for a long time. Some people get it and don’t seem to take any offense that I am turning down their kind generosity. But others do appear to be disappointed.

I don’t like disappointing anyone. But I am at that age or stage in life where if I have a slice of cake, I need to find time for a half hour run to offset the calorie intake. I have so little time. It is just so much easier to avoid sweet treats.

Ironically, I am baking more cake than ever (for my parents). But not partaking. Well…I am sweet enough – I don’t need extra sweetening.

Photo by Ilo Frey on Pexels.com